Welcome to the Horizon School Management Committee. The Management Committee has a similar function to a school Governing body but is specific to Pupil Referral Units.

Our team comprises of 12 managers: 7 community managers (Vacancies); 2 parent managers (Vacancies); our Headteacher; 1 staff manager, 1 LA appointed manager (vacancy). This is the Instrument of Governance (IoG) for Horizon School.

If you are interested in joining our management committee as an LA representative or as a parent, please contact the School Business Manager Keeley Smart ( for further information.

Our role is strategic, offering challenge and support to the school’s leadership team by:

 · Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction;

 · Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance of staff; and

 · Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

(Governance Handbook DfE October 2020)

We also ensure that we listen to, and take into account the pupil, parent/carer, and community voices.

Our management committee reformed in February 2021 to oversee the merger of the North Lowestoft Pupil Referral Units (PRU) with Attic PRU, working as the North Suffolk Pupil Referral Units. In September 2021 the Management Committee became the Horizon School Management Committee with our new Instrument of Governance as outlined above.


Name Appointed By From To

Karen Lodge Community Manager 01/02/21 – 31/01/25

Gemma Clarke Community Manager 01/02/21 – 31/01/25

Emma Jackson Staff 21/10/21 – 20/10/25

Hassan Shami Community Manager 14/02/22 – 13/02/26

Di Chester Headteacher 08/01/23

Mike Everett Community Manager 08/11/23 – 07/11/27

Paul Hill Community Manager 08/11/23 – 07/11/27

Charlotte Thompson Community Manager 08/01/24 – 07/01/28

Managers Responsibilities

Finance & Personnel – Mike Everett

Safety Health & Welfare (SHaW) – Paul Hill

Manager Recruitment – Karen Lodge

Compliance – Hassan Shami

Safeguarding, Monitoring & Filtering – Gemma Clarke

Attendance – Gemma Clarke

School & Community Voice – Emma Jackson

SEN – Charlotte Thompson

Careers – Hassan Shami